

FACULTY CENTER

1216 E. Mabel Street Tucson, AZ 85721-0456

Tel: 520.621.1342 Fax: 520.621.8844

facultycenter@email.arizona.edu

THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA® General Faculty Standing Committee Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel St. - PO Box 210456

621-1342 (Fax: 621-8844)

Committee of Eleven Annual Report 2020-21

- Dr. Javier Duran, Chair, Latin American Studies (6/15-5/21)
- Dr. Sonia Colina, Vice Chair, Spanish & Portuguese (6/18-5/22)
- Dr Carine Bourget, French & Italian (6/19-5/21)
- Dr. Evangeline Dowling, Nursing (6/20-5/22)
- Dr. Aileen Feng, French & Italian (6/19-5/21)
- Dr. Wolfgang Fink, Electrical & Computer Engineering (6/18-5/22)
- Ms. Maryan Hassan, ASUA (6/20-5/21)
- Dr. Laura Hollengreen, School of Architecture (6/19-5/21)
- Mr. Adam Roussas, GPSC, (6/20-5/21)
- Dr. Karen Seat, SILLC (6/19-5/21)
- Dr. Caleb Simmons, Religious Studies and Classics (6/2-5/22)
- Dr. Jessica Summers, Teaching/Learning/Sociocultural Studies (6/18-5/22)
- Dr. Marlys Witte, Surgery (6/20-5/22)

The committee was established in 1947 by President James Byron McCormick to obtain advice from the faculty. When the Faculty Senate and Constitution were established in 1948, the Committee of Eleven was defined constitutionally and membership determined by faculty-wide election. It is unique in higher education governance structures and is independent of other faculty or administrative committees or organizations. The Committee of Eleven is University-wide and does not have a prescribed agenda.

Faculty Constitution Article V, Section 3 provides:

The Committee of Eleven shall:

- a. Initiate, promote, and stimulate study and action dealing with and looking toward solution of situations and problems of interest and concern to the faculty and to the University.
- b. Make reports to the General Faculty or the Faculty Senate.
- c. Speak for the General Faculty as and when authorized by the General Faculty.

The 2020-2021 Academic Year was extremely busy for the Committee of Eleven, due to the Covid crisis and the resulting complexities and challenges. Given the uncertain and constantly changing public health situation at the end of the Spring 2020 term, the committee continued to meet regularly over the summer.

Among the Covid-related topics discussed with committee members and guests were faculty and staff reaction to the University's Covid response, institutional budget challenges, reentry plans for fall 2020 and spring 2021, and the university-wide furlough program.

The most significant project undertaken this year by C11, in terms of effort and time, was the Leadership and Communications survey. C11 created the survey, analyzed the results, drafted qualitative and quantitative reports, and organized a townhall to discuss results and facilitate a conversation between the Senior Leadership Team (SLT) and faculty, staff, and graduate students. While the SLT declined the invitation to attend, about 270 faculty, staff and graduate students participated in the townhall.

In addition to the survey and covid-related topics, the Committee of Eleven's focus during 2020-2021 included challenges to the university campus pantry, UAPD review, the challenges faced by shared governance, and the Ashford University acquisition. Several statements were issued regarding these and other matters (for more details, please consult the pertinent documents in the C11 web page).

It is customary for C11 to invite guests to its regular meetings to engage in discussion of pertinent issues with committee members. During the 2020-2021 academic year the list of guests included:

Coalition for Academic Justice at the University of Arizona (CAJUA), Steering Committee Members (3 meetings, including one with guest Joerg Tiede, Senior Program Officer and Researcher, American Association of University Professors (AAUP)

President Robert Robbins and Jon Dudas, Secretary of the University

Provost Liesl Folks

Lisa Rulney, Chief Financial Officer

Brent White, VP for Global Affairs

Helena Rodrigues, Vice President, Chief Human Resources Officer

UA Caregivers Group: Leah Fabiano-Smith, Nicole Iroz-Elardo, Alison Meadow, Sarah LeRoy

Taren Ellis Langford, Director, Conflict of Interest

Finally, the committee's Chair and Vice-Chair met with individuals and small groups that expressed specific concerns under the purview of C11. Chair and Vice-Chair advised said individuals and groups and brought matters back to the committee when warranted.

It is our hope that in 2021-22 the committee, including new and continuing members, will continue its this work guided by its usual enthusiasm and dedication to faculty issues.

Respectfully submitted,

Javier Duran

Chair, Committee of 11