THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA® General Faculty Standing Committee

Faculty Center 1216 E. Mabel St. - PO Box 210456 520-621-1342 (Fax: 520-621-8844)

Committee of Eleven Annual Report 2021-2022

Members:

- Dr. Wolfgang Fink, Chair, Electrical & Computer Engineering (6/18-5/22)
- Dr. Leila Hudson, Vice-Chair, School of Middle Eastern Studies (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Sonia Colina, Spanish & Portuguese (6/18-5/22)
- Dr. Evangeline Dowling, Nursing (6/20-5/22)
- Dr. Laura Hollengreen, School of Architecture (6/19-5/23)
- Dr. Barbara Kosta, German Studies (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. John Milbauer, School of Music (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Caleb Simmons, Religious Studies and Classics (6/20-5/22)
- Dr. Shufang Su, Physics (6/21-5/23)
- Dr. Jessica Summers, Chair of the Faculty, Teaching/Learning/Sociocultural Studies (6/18-5/22)
- Dr. Marlys Witte, Surgery (6/20-5/22)
- Mr. Noah Vega, ASUA (6/21-5/22)

The Committee of Eleven (C11) was established in 1947 by President James Byron McCormick to obtain advice from the faculty. When the Faculty Senate and Constitution were established in 1948, the Committee of Eleven was defined constitutionally and membership determined by faculty-wide election. C11 is unique in higher education governance structures and is independent of other faculty or administrative committees or organizations. The Committee of Eleven is University-wide and does not have a prescribed agenda.

Faculty Constitution Article V, Section 3 provides:

The Committee of Eleven shall:

- a. Initiate, promote, and stimulate study and action dealing with and looking toward solution of situations and problems of interest and concern to the faculty and to the University.
- b. Make reports to the General Faculty or the Faculty Senate.
- c. Speak for the General Faculty as and when authorized by the General Faculty.

The 2021-2022 Academic Year continued to be an extremely busy year for C11, due to the ongoing COVID pandemic, the ramifications of the university-wide furlough in Fall 2020, and the Ashford acquisition and resulting planned integration of UAGC (University of Arizona Global Campus) into the University of Arizona, all of which resulted in complexities and challenges. Given the COVID pandemic, but also given the newly discovered efficiency of zoom-meetings, C11 continued to meet regularly throughout the Academic Year 2021-2022 via zoom only.

The most significant projects undertaken this year by C11, in terms of effort and time, were (1) finalizing of the suggested revisions to UHAP 5.2 ("ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEWS OF ADMINISTRATIVE PERSONNEL") that were drafted 3 years ago by C11; (2) review of air ventilation issues in buildings and rooms across the university; and (3) university-wide annual



performance review issues with special attention to Academic Freedom of Expression (Chicago Statement). As a first step towards realizing the suggested changes to UHAP 5.2, C11 reviewed and discussed them with VP Andrea Romero. C11 will take the necessary next steps in the upcoming Academic Year 2022-2023 to implement these changes in collaboration with other shared governance and administrative units.

In addition, C11 focused during AY 2021-2022 on challenges to the university campus due to COVID (reentry for Fall 2021 and Spring 2022), persistent challenges to shared governance, and the Ashford University acquisition and subsequent decision to integrate UAGC into the University of Arizona. Several statements/letters were issued regarding these and other matters (for more details, please consult the pertinent documents/meeting minutes on the C11 web page). Here is an unranked list of topics that were investigated, discussed, and acted upon by C11 throughout AY 2021-2022:

- Teaching modalities in light of COVID-19;
- Room ventilation issues across the university;
- UHAP 5.2: annual reviews of administrators (especially Deans and Department Heads);
- University-wide furlough payback considerations;
- Gift-driven renaming of colleges and associated conflict of interest;
- CAFT hearing procedures:
- Academic Freedom of Expression (Chicago Statement; UHAP 7.01) vs. civility on campus;
- Conflict of Interest (COI) policy issues;
- Shared Governance issues;
- Annual Performance Review issues university wide;
- UAGC issues.

It is customary for C11 to invite guests to its regular meetings to engage in discussion of pertinent issues with committee members. During the 2021-2022 Academic Year the list of guests included:

- Dr. Steven Schwartz, Regents Professor and former Chair of C11
- Dr. Jonathan Bean, Assistant Professor in the School of Architecture
- Provost Liesl Folks
- Two faculty members of the College of Medicine
- President Robert Robbins
- VP Andrea Romero
- SVP Laura Todd Johnson, Director of OGC.

Finally, the committee's Chair and Vice-Chair met with individuals and small groups that expressed specific concerns under the purview of C11. The Chair and Vice-Chair advised said individuals and groups and brought matters back to the committee when warranted.

It is our sincere hope and expectation that in the Academic Year 2022-23 the committee, comprised of new and continuing members, will continue its work guided by its usual enthusiasm and dedication to faculty and university issues.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Wolfgang Fink

Chair, Committee of Eleven (C11)