THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA® FACULTY SENATE AGENDA Silver and Sage Room And Via Zoom 3:00-5:00 P.M. Monday, May 5, 2025

- 1. Call to order.
- 2. Approval of the Agenda: Vice Chair of the Faculty, Presiding Officer Mona Hymel (30 discretionary minutes will be allotted) *Time limits will be enforced.* (2 minutes)
- Action Item: Senate Elections for University Committee on Ethics and Commitment, Committee on Conciliation, University Hearing Board, Shared Governance Review Committee, Grievance Clearinghouse Committee, Senate Executive Committee (Voting via OpaVote) (5 minutes)
- 4. Approval of the minutes of April 7, 2025 (2 minutes)
- 5. Open Session. Senator Keith Maggert, Julio Cammarota, Matthew Abraham, Senator Wolfgang Fink. Time limit is 2 minutes. Maximum number of speakers is four. No comments or votes will be taken. (8 minutes)
- 6. Report from the Chair of the Faculty Leila Hudson (5 minutes)
- 7. Report from President Garimella and Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer, Helena Rodrigues. (20 minutes)
- 8. Report from the Provost Interim Provost Ron Marx (10 minutes)
- 9. Consent agenda: Co-chairs of the Undergraduate Council, Joost van Haren and Lisa Rezende and Co-chairs of Graduate Council, Philip Waddell and Sanlyn Buxner (5 minutes) Proposal New Academic Unit-Department of ENT-COM-T Proposal BS in Science-Law Repeating a course and grading for repeated courses and benchmarking General Education policy proposal-core-writing-math Math & Writing Foundations benchmarking-combined NOTIFICATION ONLY Request to Disestablish Subplans in ARCHMS Request to Disestablish NURSMS PNP Request to disestablish NURSMS PDNPR Request to Disestablish NURSMS FNP Request to Disestablish NURSDNP FPMHNP Request to Disestablish NURSDNP ANPR Request to Rename Academic Unit UMR Military Science Request to Merge Org Units UArizona Request for a Transfer of Ownership for Software Engineering Program

10. New Business

- A. UA Staff Council Workplace Climate Report survey Results UASC Vice President, Danielle Barefoot (10 minutes)
- B. Improving the undergraduate student research experience C11 Chair, Wolfgang Fink (30 minutes)
- C. Statement of student concerns Co-chairs of the Student Affairs Policy Committee, Kristin Little and Tim Ottusch (5 minutes)
- D. Athletics update Faculty Athletics Representative, Ricardo Valerdi (10 minutes)
- E. Announcement of Senate Election Results (5 minutes)
- 11. Written reports from the APPC, ASUA, C11, Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Faculty Officers, Gen Ed Office with UWGEC, GPSC, Graduate Council, President, Provost, RPC, SAPC, SGRC, SPBAC, UA Staff Council, Undergraduate Council, University Community Relations Committee
- 12. Adjournment at precisely 5:00 p.m.

(117 minutes)